Congratulations to the 2020 Diversity Award Winners!

The Chicago Committee held its Annual Meeting virtually on October 22, 2020. Office managing partners, diversity officers and personnel, and attorneys from member firms attended the meeting. The meeting included a review of 2020 by Board of Directors member Malaika Tyson (McAndrews, Held & Malloy, Ltd.) and Associate Board Chair Sheek Shah (Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP). The Board Chair, Michael Martinez (K&L Gates LLP) gave a look ahead to new objectives for 2020-2021. Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot gave the keynote address, who was introduced by Charles E. Harris, II (Mayer Brown LLP). Board member Lindsey Dates (Barnes & Thornburg LLP) gave an update on the Pathway to Partnership program with program Fellow Lindsey Conley (Hinshaw Culbertson LLP) and attorneys from JLL, David Hitchens, Kendall Mills, and Helen Arnold.

Board Secretary, Steve Flores (Winston & Strawn LLP), present the 2020 Diversity Awards. The Chicago Committee recognized three law firms for their effort in advancing diversity and inclusion within their firms based on their answers to our Diversity Questionnaire. In evaluating the responses to the Diversity Questionnaire, the Committee considered a number of factors, including, hiring and retention of diverse law students and attorneys, resources dedicated to diversity efforts, the number of racially and ethnically diverse attorneys in positions of power at the firm, as well as programming and training devoted to diversity and the firm’s diverse attorneys. The Chicago Committee believes these factors show a meaningful commitment to the advancement of diversity within the firm. K&L Gates LLP received the Law Firm Leadership Award. Baker McKenzie received the Commitment & Investment Award. Mayer Brown LLP received the Change Agent Award. We congratulate these firms for their continued work in diversity and inclusion efforts.

Skip to content